Davis Cup Finals began: schedule for group stage revealed


The Davis Cup 2021 has 18 participating teams. Six groups have been formed, with three teams in each. Each team will play two matches in a round-robin format, facing each other once.

The groups draw based on the seeding and ranking of national teams. They play on hard courts. The quarterfinals are guaranteed for the first-place teams, while second places will play in an extra group stage to determine another two to complete an 8-teams list. Group A includes Russia, Spain, and Ecuador. The trio of Canada, Sweden, and Kazakhstan make up group B. In the opening match, Sweden beat Canada 3-0. Madrid will host matches for both groups.

Read more: ATA released schedule for the events before the Australian Open start.

Austrian Innsbruck is the venue for Groups C and F. Group C is made up of the Czech Republic, France, and the UK. France has already defeated the Czech Republic by 2-1, and temporarily topped the trio. Group F includes Serbia, Austria, and Germany, which haven’t played even a single match yet.

Turin is the last host city for the group stage, where the trios from groups D & E will be playing. Group D includes Australia, Hungary, and Croatia. The Australians were beaten 3-0 by Croatia and close to failure. The USA, Columbia, and Italy are the trio in Group E, but they haven’t met yet. The group stage matches will last from November 25 to 28, while the latter schedule will be revealed later. Want to know more about tennis and don’t miss the important news? Subscribe to and receive the latest updates to your email.


Related Articles

Back to top button